Muslim Holidays: Holidays Celebrated By Muslim Community around the World. Each year Muslims have two major religious occasions. One is Eid Al-Fitr after the Holy Ramadan and one is Eid Al-Adha which is connected with Hajj. Each one of these occasions is related to another. Every Islamic Holidays are relatively happened according to the Islamic Calendar. (See more in the below for 2017, 2018 and 2019 calendar dates)

Muslim Holidays

muslim holidays

Ramadan

Ramadan is one the most significant Muslim Holidays. Every year, fasting occurred with the ninth month of the Lunar calendar. In this month Muslims spend fasting for one month. According to the lunar calendar, the 9th month is known among the Muslim community is Ramadan.

During this ninth month of Islamic calendar. From dawn to sunset, Muslims ordered to abstain from food, liquids, smoking, and sex in fasting time. Performing this fast is one of the extremely significant aspects of the Muslim faith. In fact, to understand the importance of Ramadan. Allah included this Ramadan in Five Pillars of Islam.

Laylat Al-Qadr:

As an aspect of Ramadan, Muslims celebrate some extra prayer for their Allah. Such as “Night of Power”. Which is when Quran was first revealed with its first verses to the Last Prophet Muhammad SAW.

Eid Al-Fitr:

Eid Al-Fitr is also one of the most celebrated occasions and Muslim Holidays. After a month-long fasting in the month of Ramadan, Muslim community celebrates their desired occasion known as “The Festival of Fast-Breaking”, also known as Eid Al-Fitr. On the day of Eid, Fasting is strictly prohibited for Muslims. At the end of Fasting is usually celebrated by an occasional fast-breaking. As well As Muslims perform Eid Prayer on this day in an open field, outdoor place or in a Mosque.

Hajj:

Among the important Muslim Holidays, Hajj is one of them. Every year on the 12th month of the Islamic calendar Hajj is celebrated by Muslim Community. Hajj is also known as one of the Holiest Islamic occasion days. During Hajj, pilgrims get together at the plain Arafat Field to seek Allah’s Mercy. And Muslims elsewhere can fast for the day.

Then Muslims around the world get together at mosques for a solidarity soulful prayer.

Eid Al-Adha:

Eid Al-Adha is such a Muslim Holidays when Muslims are getting chance to sacrifice something for Allah. After finishing the yearly pilgrimage, Muslim community celebrates one of the most important occasions of the year is known as “The Festival of Sacrifice” also known as Eid Al-Adha. The festival also includes a major ritual to sacrifice of a sheep, camel, goat or cow. This action is meant to commemorate to one of the important trials of the Prophet Abraham. Prophet Abraham is also known as the Father of the Muslim Nation.

Some other Muslim Occasions:

Ramadan, Eid Al-Fitr, Hajj and Eid Al-Adha is the most major festival of Muslim Community around the world. Besides these festivals, there are some other festivals. But those festivals are not performed worldwide. These festivals are observed more like regional.

Some community of Muslims performs other occasions from Islamic history. Which are also considered as holidays by some but not by all Muslims?

1st Muharram: Islamic New Year

Al-Hijra is marked as the beginning of the Islamic New Year, as it celebrates on the first day of Muharram. This date was selected to perform Muhammad’s the Last Prophet of Islam hijra to Medina city. This is a key point in Islamic the ecclesiastical history of Islam.

10th Muharram: Ashura

Ashura is noticed the anniversary of Grand Child of Muhammad SAW Husein. Which is formally celebrated by Shia Muslims. The date is specially performed by fasting, donating Blood, occasional performances, and interior & exterior decorations.

12th Rabiul Awal: Eid E-Milad-Un-Nabi

Milad Un-Nabi celebrated on the 12th day of Rabiul Awal. Muhammad the Last Prophet was born on this day on this month in 570. This is considered as one of the Holy Day of Islamic Calendar. As a matter of fact, this day is celebrated in some different ways by different Islamic communities. Some of the Muslim community selected this day to celebrate Muhammad’s SAW birth by giving gifts and arrange feasts. Whereas others condemn this attitude, arguing that it is idolatrous.

27th Rajab: Isra’ & Mi’raj

Mi’raj is one of the most significant spiritual events for the Muslim community. Muslims perform Muhammad’s SAW this journey to Jerusalem to Mecca. As followed by his ascent to heaven and return to Mecca. These two special holy nights is proudly known as Isra’ and Mi’raj. Somehow some Muslims celebrate this occasion by doing a special prayer for Allah. Although there is no specific or must do prayers or required fasting to go alongside this holiday.

 

Occasional Dates for 2017, 2018 and 2019

Islamic occasional days are based on Lunar based Islamic Calendar. So relative Gregorian days and dates may vary by One (1) or Two (2) days from the actual dates of events.

 

Isra’ & Mi’raj:

  • Monday, April 24, 2017
  • Friday, April 14, 2018
  • Wednesday, April 03, 2019

Ramadan:

  • Saturday, May 27 to Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 16 to Thursday, June 14, 2018
  • Sunday, May 05 to Tuesday, June 04, 2019

Eid Al-Fitr:

  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Thursday, June 15, 2018
  • Monday, June 03, 2019

Hajj:

  • Wednesday, August 30 to Monday, September 04, 2017
  • Sunday, August 19 to Friday, August 24, 2018
  • Friday, August 09 to Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Day of Arafat:

  • Wednesday, August 30, 2017
  • Monday, August 20, 2018
  • Saturday, August 10, 2019

Eid Al-Adha:

  • Friday, September 1 to Tuesday, September 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 21 to Saturday, October 25, 2018
  • Sunday, August 11 to Monday, August 12, 2019

Islamic New Year

  • Thursday, September 21, 2017
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2018
  • Saturday, August 31, 2019

Ashura:

  • Friday, September 29, 2017
  • Thursday, September 20, 2018
  • Monday, September 9, 2019

Eid E-Milad-Un-Nabi:

  • Thursday, November 30, 2017
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2018
  • Saturday, November 09, 2019

About the author

Islami Religion

ABOUT ISLAMI RELIGION
Islami Religion is a concept to be a good Muslim. We are trying to eliminate the wrong concept of Islam. We will be publishing authentic articles about our Religion.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.